

Biennial Organization Meeting (Minutes) January 3, 2022 @ 6:45 PM

Call to Order (Mayor Amanda Hammock)

Mayor Amanda Hammock called the meeting to order at 6:45 PM.

Pledge of Allegiance

Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officials

The following newly elected public officials were administered the Oath of Office by the Judge Stephanie H. Klien - Court of Common Pleas)

Kristin Acquarola (Tax Collector)

Amanda Hammock (Mayor)

Douglas Eagar (Council – 4 Year Term) Michelle Miller (Council – 4 Year Term) Michele Y. Roberts (Council – 4 Year Term) Walter Stubbs (Council – 4 Year Term)

Presentation of documents included the Certificate of Election; Notarized Affidavit of Residency; and a signed Oath of Office.

Roll Call

Mayor Amanda Hammock (Present)

Councilor Joseph Boylan (Virtual) Councilor Douglas Eagar (Present) Councilor Hiele Hodnett (Present) Councilor John Miller (Present) Councilor Michelle Miller (Present) Councilor Michele Roberts (Present) Councilor Walter Stubbs (Present)

Nomination for Council President / Election of Council President

First nomination was for Walter Stubbs for Council President. Roll call vote as follows:

Councilor Joseph Boylan - No Councilor Douglas Eagar - No Councilor Hiele Hodnett - No Morton Borough Biennial Organization Meeting (Minutes) January 3, 2022 Page 2 of 4

Councilor John Miller - No Councilor Michelle Miller – No Councilor Michele Roberts – No Councilor Walter Stubbs – Yes

Nomination failed with 1 – Yes and 6 – No.

Second nomination was for Michele Miller for Council President. Roll call vote as follows:

Councilor Joseph Boylan - Yes Councilor Douglas Eagar - Yes Councilor Hiele Hodnett - Yes Councilor John Miller - Yes Councilor Michelle Miller – Yes Councilor Michele Roberts – Yes Councilor Walter Stubbs – No

Nomination passed with 6 - Yes and 1 - No.

Nomination for Council Vice-President / Election of Council Vice-President

Nomination for John Miller for Vice-President. Roll call vote as follows:

Councilor Joseph Boylan - Yes Councilor Douglas Eagar - Yes Councilor Hiele Hodnett - Yes Councilor John Miller - Yes Councilor Michelle Miller – Yes Councilor Michele Roberts – No Councilor Walter Stubbs – No

Nomination passed with 5 - Yes and 2 - No.

Appointment of the Vacancy Board Chair

Michael Fiorentino, Esquire was nominated as the Vacancy Board Chair. Motion passed unanimously.

Professional Service Appointments:

- Borough Solicitor Carl Ewald, Esq.
- Labor Relations Solicitor Campbell Durant, PC
- Planning Commission Solicitor Carl Ewarld, Esq.
- Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor McNichol, Byrne, & Matlawski, PC
- Civil Service Commission Solicitor Carl Ewald, Esq.
- Engineer Catania Engineering Associates, Inc.
- Alternate Engineer Kelly & Close Engineers

Morton Borough Biennial Organization Meeting (Minutes) January 3, 2022 Page 3 of 4

- Building Code Official Catania Engineering Associates, Inc.
- Health Inspector(s) Daniel Diedrich & Nancy Guerra
- Fire Marshall Rufus Stokes
- Finance Support Brinker Simpson and Company
- Auditor Ronald R. Woodworth, CPA, PC
- Treasurer Maureen Koch
- Actuary for Police Pension Plan Thomas J. Anderson & Associates
- Borough Manager William Stewart
- Borough Secretary Martha Preston
- Right to Know Officer William Stewart

Motion to appoint Professional Services passed unanimously.

Public Comment

Bill Heffner (FEA Industries, 1 North Morton Avenue, Morton) – Asked the percent of pay increase for the non-uniformed employees. Council answered the percent of pay increase is 2.5%.

Action Items

• **Motion:** To approve Resolution 2022-01 - Salary Adjustment for Non-Uniformed Employees.

Motion made by President Miller and seconded by Vice President Miller. Roll call vote as follows:

Councilor Joseph Boylan - Yes Councilor Douglas Eagar - Yes Councilor Hiele Hodnett - No Councilor John Miller - Yes Councilor Michelle Miller - Yes Councilor Michele Roberts - No Councilor Walter Stubbs - Yes

Motion passed with 5 - Yes to 2 - No.

New Business

- Council Committee Assignments
 - Community Development Councilor Hodnett (Chair)
 - Facilities/Infrastructure/Highway President Miller (Chair)
 - Finance/Administration/Insurance Councilor Boylan (Chair)
 - Health/Sanitation/Recycling Councilor Roberts (Chair)
 - Law and Ordinance Councilor Eagar (Chair)
 - Public Safety Vice President Miller (Chair)
 - Parks & Recreation Councilor Stubbs (Chair)

Morton Borough Biennial Organization Meeting (Minutes) January 3, 2022 Page 4 of 4

CDCA Representative – Charles Lillicrapp

Upcoming Meetings/Events

- 01/12/2022 @ 7:00 PM Regular Meeting (BH)
- 01/26/2022 @ 7:00 PM Agenda Meeting (BH)

<u>Adjourn</u>

Motion to adjourn was made by President Miller and seconded by Councilor Hodnett. Unanimous vote to adjourn the meeting at 7:30 PM.

Respectfully prepared by:

William Stewart

Borough Manager 01/12/2022